First Week at Churn Labs

This is a post from Seni Sangrujee, currently our newest addition at Churn. Seni is someone I’ve known for years from the local mobile scene, but this is our first time working directly together. He was a bit hesitant before he joined because we tend to talk a really big game, and folks are naturally somewhat skeptical about our ability to deliver. After his first week on the job I asked him to write up something that we could share:

——–

Well I just wrapped up my first week working at Churn Labs, and I wanted to write about it while it’s still fresh in my mind since it was pretty remarkable.

Diving in was pretty seamless, it’s an environment I’m accustomed to…a handful of folks embarking on creating something very cool. It’s a scene repeated all across Silicon Valley right now with countless startups getting off the ground.

What _was_ different from previous early-stage endeavors that I’ve been involved with was how all the job worries and overhead were taken care of on Day 1. Previously when I’ve been trying to start something with folks, there was always a part of my mind focused on mortgage/bill worries, but it was refreshing to be able to take those wasted brain cycles and focus them on the bigger task at hand.

Also there’s a grander vision/mission here than I’ve been involved with in recent years publishing simple Android and iPhone apps, which is probably due to the world-class team involved.

Finding Magic
An interesting thing happened on Tuesday which made me realize that I definitely made the right decision in joining Churn. We were working on something relatively routine and stumbled upon something interesting and unexpected. I thought I was pretty jaded about technology these days, but it was fun to encounter something innovative and magical.

I can’t go into details, but there was a definite feeling that we might be onto something very interesting, and years from now I might be looking back at that night with a fond smile.

24 Hours in Silicon Valley
Later that night, things got even more surreal as Mike Arrington popped into our office for a surprise visit. I’ve been reading TechCrunch for years and go to a boatload of startup events, but had never met him before.

The next day we headed over to Sand Hill Road and a meeting at Sequoia Capital. A month ago, if you had suggested to me that I’d be in a room with those guys talking about startup ideas I would have thought you were crazy, but it happened. And then, to complete the story, my demo crashed on both my primary phone and backup phone (although it worked later).

And that wrapped up a quintessential 24 hours in Silicon Valley and an epic first week on the job.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Week at Churn Labs

  1. John Kern says:

    Hello gents,

    Glad to hear things are cooking. Go for it!

    -jk

  2. Sheetal Dube says:

    Congrats! Looks like you found a perfect match. I am very happy for you!

Leave a Reply

